Skip to content

Life of a Marine Mom, day 2

June 3, 2005

Well , Eric finally called me after not hearing from him for over 3 weeks. He is currently stationed in CA. They got 4 days leave over Memorial Day holiday but he didn’t go anywhere because he was broke. He said that he has to pay for so many of the things he needs there that it eats up his pay even though he really can’t go anywhere to spend money. It doesn’t make sense to me that these young Marines have to pay for items that should be given to them for the sacrifice they are making to protect US. They put their lives on the line every day, work harder than most Americans ever have to work and still they don’t get enough money that they can afford to go anywhere on the rare occasions that they get leave.

I carry my cellphone everywhere but for some reason Eric never calls on it. He always calls home and leaves a message for me … but its great to even hear his voice, he sounds good. I will be sending him a care package from home this week. I asked him if he needed anything special but he always tells me he doesn’t need anything. I am sending stuff anyway

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment